Shirley's Page

me & my dog, Boomer

Greetings everyone!

I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Shirley Wang. I currently live in Los Angeles, California. I am 35 years old and I have Apert's Syndrome. I'm very honored to be joining your forum here at

Like many of you or your children, I went through numerous surgeries as a newborn/young infant. In fact, there were so many that I can't remember exactly just "how many." I don't even really remember going through the surgeries themselves, which could be a good thing, I guess.

I went through about five surgeries to separate the fingers on both of my hands and, in the process, I lost the index finger on my right hand. The toes on both of my feet are still fused together. I also had surgeries on my skull. I can walk and talk and even type, pretty much as well as everyone else can.

My parents were told early on that I would grow up with the maximum intelligence of a second grader. However, with the love & support of my family, I was able to thrive and graduate from high school, even graduate from college with an Associates of Arts Degree in English. I now continue to attend school for both business (career-enhancement) & pleasure (hobbies).

Currently, I am between jobs. I work in the administrative medical field. I still live at home with my parents, my dog, and two baby turtles. I have two brothers and one sister, all of whom are married. I have two nieces & four nephews.

I like to spend my free time reading books and also writing journals, etc. I'm also very much into digital photography and scrapbooking.

Anything else that you'd like to know about me? Just ask :) Looking forward to getting to know all of you.





This page was created January 16, 2007

1997-2015 apert international, inc.
All photos and text are the property of the families represented and Apert International, Inc., and may not be used without their consent.